Parliament Security Breach: Amit Shah Hits Out at Opposition for ‘Playing Politics’

Last Updated: December 14, 2023, 23:34 IST

According to the intelligence inputs, Sagar Sharma, Manoranjan D, Neelam Azad, Amol Shinde and Lalit Jha met for the first time around 18 months ago in Mysore. (Image: News18)

“There should not be loopholes, but our responsibility is to fill those gaps. My appeal is not to make this a political issue,” Union Home Minister Amit Shah said

Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Thursday rained down on the opposition for ‘playing politics’ over the security breach in the Parliament building on Wednesday.

“This is a serious incident. Opposition is playing politics over this. Of course, there has been a lapse. But everybody knows Parliament security is under the Speaker and the Speaker wrote to the Ministry of Home Affairs. We have formed an enquiry committee and that report will be sent to the Speaker soon,” said the Home Minister while speaking at Agenda Aaj Tak 2023 session.

“There should not be loopholes, but our responsibility is to fill those gaps. My appeal is not to make this a political issue,” Shah added.

Two intruders entered the Lok Sabha premises while proceedings were underway and released canisters emanating yellow-coloured smoke on Wednesday.

Four of the accused were arrested on Wednesday while the main conspirator was nabbed by the Special Cell in New Delhi late Thursday night.

The accused arrested in the case were identified as Lalit Jha, who is believed to be the main conspirator, 26-year-old Sagar Sharma, 34-year-old Maoranjan D, 37-year-old Neelam and 25-year-old Amol. According to sources, the accused knew each other and hatched the plan a few days ago. According to the initial probe by security agencies, the breach was well-coordinated and meticulously planned

A day after the incident, chaotic scenes were witnessed in the Parliament on Thursday. Opposition MPs staged a protest in the House, demanding a statement from Home Minister Amit Shah on the issue.

Fourteen Opposition MPs, 13 from Lok Sabha and one from Rajya Sabha, were suspended for their “unruly” act in the Parliament.

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! Pioneer Newz is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave a Comment