NSW, Queensland flood payments: LGAs eligible for disaster funding expands after BOM issues warning for further heavy rainfall


Residents in 30 council areas are eligible for emergency government funding following disastrous floods.

The federal government on Wednesday extended the disaster assistance to the local government areas, 27 of which are in New South Wales and three in Queensland.

WATCH THE VIDEO ABOVE: Major flood warnings issued across the east coast.

Watch the latest News on Channel 7 or stream for free on 7plus >>

Rain has fallen heavily across much of Australia’s eastern states in recent weeks.

In the 24 hours to Thursday morning, more than 50mm had fallen in some parts of Condobolin and Lake Cargelligo, west of Parkes.

Heavier falls are taking place along the coastline, the Bureau of Meteorology said.

Disaster payments

As a result of the persistent rainfall, and the threat of further flooding, the federal government’s disaster payment is being called back into action.

It was deployed earlier in the year due to flooding in February and July.

Federal Minister for Emergency Management Murray Watt said that, for many of the impacted communities, it wasn’t the first flooding emergency they’d undergone this year.

“Eleven of these LGAs were also disaster declared in August, which demonstrates how challenging it can be for these communities to get back on their feet,” Watt said.

“Some financial support has already been made available through the commonwealth and state governments for the August floods, but councils are facing significant repairs to public assets damaged in the latest event, and our priority is to provide the support we can.”

If you’d like to view this content, please adjust your .

To find out more about how we use cookies, please see our Cookie Guide.

NSW Minister for Flood Recovery Steph Cooke said the assistance was designed to allow communities in the Central West and Northern Inland regions access support.

“We know that with these types of floods it can take some time to understand and calculate the impacts of an event like this, particularly when some LGAs still have flooding throughout their regions due to river system flooding,” Cooke said.

“We are continuing to assess the impacts of this event to ensure that appropriate support is available.”

Assistance under the disaster recovery funding arrangements includes funding to help people whose homes or properties have been damaged in floods, council assistance with restoring essential assets, or funding for primary producers or small business owners.

Are you eligible?

Residents of the following LGAs are so far eligible for the payments:

New South Wales

  • Blayney
  • Bogan
  • Bourke
  • Brewarrina
  • Cabonne
  • Cowra
  • Dubbo
  • Edward River
  • Forbes
  • Gilgandra
  • Glen Innes Severn
  • Greater Hume
  • Gunnedah
  • Gwydir
  • Lachlan
  • Lithgow
  • Liverpool Plains
  • Moree Plains
  • Mid-Western
  • Narrabri
  • Narromine
  • Tamworth
  • Upper Lachlan
  • Walgett
  • Warren
  • Warrumbungle
  • Weddin


Those in flood-affected communities in NSW can find out if they’re eligible here, and those in Queensland can find out here.

If you’d like to view this content, please adjust your .

To find out more about how we use cookies, please see our Cookie Guide.

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! Pioneer Newz is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.